It’s just not cricket !

Today in Los Angeles there is a cricket match taking place. It is one of the events celebrating the G’Day USA Australia week and various celebrities and cricket stars from Oz and the UK will be competing including, Russell Crowe, Mel Gibson, Ian Botham, Robbie Williams, Mick Jagger, Rod Stewart, Jude Law, Steve Waugh, Kevin Pietersen, Simon Jones…

Here’s the problem:
My Girlie self rather has a thing for Robbie Williams – the very successful British pop star and song-writer who has now been living in LA (mostly) avoiding the public glare. I’ve seen him perform a few times and have followed his career since I realised what a very sexy, talented, good-looking and funny chap he was. Don’t get me wrong I am not doe-eyed and stupid. I realise he is not all angel-delight as he can be prone to addictive and depressive bouts of down-time.

Where’s the problem?

My Grown up woman self finds Mel Gibson knee tremblingly irresistable (Yes – despite his Tequila fuelled mouthing off in the summer of 2006) and now in his 50’s hugely more interesting with a real depth of character. I’m sure I’m not the only one who was floored the first time they saw this young guy playing Mad Max, Fletcher Christian or Tim. Apart from causing me to need to change my underwear a few times Mr Gibson has also enthralled me with his directorial story-telling.

So on the Leo Magnus Cricket complex pitch this afternoon in San Fernando Valley, Mel Gibson will be playing for the Aussie team and Robbie Williams for the England team.

Where do I look ? Who do I applaud? Where can I fix my make-up?
OMG What do I wear? Do I go fit, sporty, sexy, fashionable and a bit naughty for Robbie or do I go fit, sexy, intelligent and a bit religious for Mel?

Find out what I did later…

~ by thiswoman on January 20, 2008.

2 Responses to “It’s just not cricket !”

  1. I’ve just never really understood the Mel Gibson thing. Although, I must admit he looks good in a beard which is unusual.

  2. I think it must be an age thing… As I get older I’ve noticed that my taste in celebrities has got older too. I can honestly say there are no young actors now that come close to having the effect on me that the young Mel did.

    And you’re right; it takes an exceptional face to carry off a beard – I think it’s all in the eyes.

Leave a Reply

 
