Looking up to Daddy.

As we’ve established here P is not known for his DIY skills and probably feeling a little goaded into trying something bearing in mind my self-sufficient practical abilities, P decided to actually change a light bulb. I think that’s worth an exclamation mark. !

Not a bulb in the house either but one outside on the passageway – a community bulb ! The light, on a motion sensor, had not been working for over a week and I don’t think even P could bring himself to call the electrician for something so trivial.  Our four year old of course wanted to take part in this ceremony after-all it was a ‘first’ for all of us. I was careful to appear as if I was carrying on doing something else but I was taking notice, getting the tiniest needle as I was no longer the DIY one. I had competition.

Nothing to worry about though since P then needed to ask me where my tools were, did I have a philips screw-driver? Yes but all my tools are in my tool box down in the garage in my car. But I did find him a philips in my handbag. (which I carry along with a maglite and a swiss. Am I normal?)

Off he went quite happily, balancing on a chair on tip-toe trying to undo the light cover, eventually deciding to get the step ladder which was obviously a lot more comfortable and safer for him and our four year old who was standing right by the chair watching his daddy do what his mummy usually does.

Now not many four year olds stand in one place for long and so when ours decided to go running around daddy he set off the sensor and the light switched on which meant that the bulb got hot and couldn’t be removed comfortably. That was apparently my fault as I was told I should be keeping S out of the way. Men and multi-tasking really don’t exist in the same universe.
“explain to him what you are doing and he will do what you say” I said helpfully.

Then once the bulb was out and identified a new one had to be found. “Where are the bulbs?” “In the bottom drawer” where they’ve always been. P found one and just ran it past me to be sure. Off he went with S in tow. Back up the ladder and…

smash. dropped the bulb and he was doing so well. I shall not lie, I was amused.
Poor P. Maybe his DIY days are over already.

~ by thiswoman on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
